How to block a person from sending you Facebook messages
If you’re like me, you don’t like to receive a log of private messages from your Facebook group members.
Sometimes, you simply need to ignore the messages without blocking the sender. When you choose to “ignore messages,” the sender will have no idea you’ve blocked them. (See instructions on how to do this here.)
Other times, blocking a person from sending messages is called for – for example, if a former group member is harassing you.
When you block a user from sending messages, they’ll receive an alert that says you are not receiving messages at that time (from them).
Blocking messages is super easy to do. (These instructions are shown using mobile, which I find to be faster and easier, in this case.)
- Open Facebook messenger and select the chat or person you wish to block. Swipe left to reveal the “hamburger” menu.
- Open the hamburger menu. You have a bunch of options here. Select “Block.”
- Confirm the type of block that you will put into place.You have two options here. For the purpose of this post, we are going to select “Block Messages and Calls,” but if you feel strongly enough, you can also block the user entirely, meaning they will not be able to see your public Facebook profile, your posts or comments, or connect with you in any way.
My recommendation is if you are going to block a person entirely on Facebook, you should also remove them from any groups that you admin, as they will not be able to see any of your posts or comments from your personal admin account.
- Feel better about managing messages in a way that works best for you!
Once you set a message to “block,” you won’t see the messages again and the sender will be alerted that you are no longer receiving messages (from them).